Skating Through Life Without Fear

Standard

312905_10151606271302355_517035901_n

Skating Without Fear
For the past two weekends, my daughter and I had been going to the skating rink. If you ever been to a skating rink, regardless if it is for ice-skating or roller-skating, they both have something in common, the rink is in a form of a circle. When you enter into the place where the rink is located, you have a choice to either rent your skates or bring in your own. You will notice that the people, who have their own supply of skates, are usually the ones who come to the rink on regular basics. These people made an investment by purchasing their own skates because rental skates can range from $3-4 depending on the days of the week. As you getting prepared to skate you will also notice that there are all kinds of people from different ages, race, and gender skating around on this shining floor made of wood (roller skating) or thick layers of frozen ice (ice skating) that is formed into a circle. On the skating floor, there is different kind of skaters too. You have your beginners, intermediate, advanced, and those down right speed racers. As you going around in this circle, there is some music playing while you are skating. What excites me about this experience; it is also a way you can look at life.
The children/teens that speed around the floor are the most amazing thing ever. If you observe them, many of them are not in fear of skating, especially the boys. Girls may be timid at first, but once she gets the hang of it, boys watch out she is coming through with full force. The children are what I call the downright speed racers. They are not skating; it is more like a game of chase, but on skates. The thing that gets me the most, is when they are gliding across the floor like speedy Gonzalez, and the midst of their happiness, joy, and peace, they fall down. I do not mean a soft fall, but a complete on your butt fall. Although as an adult, you feel sorry for these kids, but in a blink of an eye, they get right back up and speed off again as if nothing just happened. They are not embarrassed; their pride is not in the way and they are not screaming out for Mommy. They just get right back up, keep it moving, and laugh with their friends about it later.
I remember when I took my granddaughter to a skating party last week and this was her first time skating. I must admit this little child has so much personality. When she was walking in her skates on the floor, I was holding on to her hands to help her keep her balance, when she told me with a fearless look, “Mi Mi I can skate, I got this!” Sure enough, she actually did, and she had no worries about falling because she knew her Mi Mi would have been right there to pick her up and encourage her to keep moving. My daughter also was learning to skate for the first time. She is ten years old and can be a drama queen literally. She was scared at first to skate and I can recall when her Aunt told her, “Do not try to break your fall because you may break something, just fall.” My daughter was struggling at first and I remembered her telling me with a frustrated face, this is hard. I told her this is something that you never done before and the fact that you is trying is the best step you can ever make.
Therefore, she went back out on the rink and she fallen a couple more times, but she did not give up and within an hour, she was skating. She was so happy that she learned how to skate and wanted us to make this a weekly activity for us, so I invested in two brand new pair of skates, for her and I.
Now, we all know that life is not a circle, but an interesting path. It is a path where we make choices and decisions regardless if they are good or bad. Some of us aim to go straight and some of us detour to the left or to the right. You never want your life keep going around in a circle and it is not in God’s Will to do so. I use the rink and the children as examples because skating is somewhat similar to life. Skating is not an easy task, but like life with determination, love, peace, and no fear, you will achieve. You have to hit the pavement of life with everything God has given us. As it is stated 2Timothy 1:7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. Just like the children who are prepared, ready, and willing to fall until they succeed, we as adults need be the same way. We have to seek God for guidance and ask Him to direct our paths. Proverbs 3:5-6, KJV “Trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” Just like my granddaughter, we must know that God is right there with us pushing us on, until we say “I got this” Father, but when we fall, He will pick us back up and encourage us to keep it moving. Isaiah 41:10, NKJV “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, yes I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”
However, if you ever get the opportunity to go to the skating rink to enjoy those few hours of fun, great music, and smiling faces as you go around in that circle. If you happened to be skating pass someone who has taken a hard fall to the floor, please do not hesitate to stop to give him/her your hand, help him/her up, and encouraged him/her to keep it moving! 1Thessalonians 5:11, ESV “Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.”

Leave a Reply

